Morro Bay, CA Jan 2, 2013

I was fully intending to abandon this space completely and pick up over at Tumblr, I even made a few posts there, but I was contacted by a mom who was wondering how Elias was doing with regard to speech. Two days later, a mom on a facebook group for Late Talkers made a post about how people start blogs when their kids aren’t talking but abandon the blog and discontinue updating it. I know how that feels, searching in desperation for some comforting words from someone in a similar situation. So! I am semi-back, I will use this to chat about Elias and his progress at very least, as well as other relevant topics.

For just a general update/background since my entries are now mostly private (I’ll unearth some with time, life is crazy hectic currently!), Elias was a late talker with possible Mixed Expressive and Receptive Delay, possible Apraxia, possible Dyspraxia…etc. No official diagnosis that has stuck, he is a mystery to all professionals who have met him, really. He did not say words until after 3 but at 5 he is rapidly catching up (never stops talking, actually) in most ways. His prognosis as of last month was that he will just normalize within the next year or two with regard to articulation error. His receptive language has resolved now as well! It’s been harrowing, so if you’re reading this because you are searching for comfort because your toddler isn’t talking, please feel free to leave a comment with any question I can address. We did a million different professional evaluations (private, public, school district, therapists, neurologist, MRI, occupational, hearing, oral-motor…) and I’d love to share anything that might be helpful.

Elias is a late bloomer, delayed in a non-alarming (but at times highly annoying!) way. He is a silly, funny, smart kid who acts younger than his age. In a time where the race is on to have your kids in serious academics by like 5 years old, it’s been a wild ride to find serenity with this reality. My kid is going to be childlike, wild, a little longer than some. That is officially okay with me at this point, but it took a while. What this means in daily life is that he whines more than your average 5 year old, can’t do some “basic” 5 year old things with ease like buttons or tying his shoes. He gets crazy and jumps around in your face more than he has a conversation about his day, but the conversations are multiplying with each day now. I ask him “What was the best thing that happened to you today?” every day, and it seems like I get a bit more information each time. Maybe an extra word or more descriptors, or feelings. I am enjoying this!

Something that people often ask is how he is doing socially, especially therapists. He was always very social, and now he is communicating socially in an age appropriate way. He loves to run up to kids and ask, “Hey, what’s your name!” when we go to the park. He plays beautifully with other kids, it’s the direction of adults that ruffles his feathers! Well, he can get a bit Alpha with other boys… ha

Another question that comes up is if my other kids are late talkers. No! My first was an average-early talker and is hyper-literate and my 1 year old has an insane vocabulary already. This was not hereditary in our case, I don’t think. His dad and I were both early talkers too!

So, recap; normally developing child does not talk until after 3 years of age. By 5, you would probably never notice. My biggest take-away from this experience is that while you MUST explore all medical issues, especially hearing and physical exams for your own peace of mind and the best early assistance for your child, almost all parents I’ve talked to about their late talker will tell you that they wish they could turn back the clock and get those 2 years of worry back. Enjoy your child. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

