Not a Commercial, Swear!

ImagePlease do not judge this product based on my lowlight iphone photo!

So, every once in a while there is a product that I try and love and I start feeling really nervous that the company will cease to exist or stop making said amazing product so I just tell everyone in the world about it, hoping it will somehow keep my access open. This is definitely one of those products!

I found it by searching Birchbox, when I was trying to use my points to buy a new facewash. I read the reviews and ingredients list and felt really excited about it, so I poked around reviews on Makeupalley, Makeuptalk, and general beauty bloggers. Everyone seems to love this stuff unless they have extremely dry skin, many touted it as a “miracle” so I was everso eager to try it for myself.

For the last 5 years or so, I just wash my face with plain old Dr. Bronners and I have loved it. Skipping face cleansers with a million detergents and harsh chemicals really changed my skin, which used to be awful. My skin always looked red, even my eyes seemed bloodshot all the time, but as soon as I skipped out on facewash and started religiously using Bronners, my skin quickly turned…normal. I will never have that poreless porcelain skin that some of you are blessed with, it’s just not my genetic blessing, but this was a night and day improvement. It was such a huge improvement, that it caused me to stop using detergents on our clothes and bodies too. So, usually we just use Bronners for every-damn-thing from head to toe (yes, you can use it for laundry, too!) but this it not a Bronners write up! Or…is it? Ha!

I’m telling you all this so it makes sense to you when I say that I almost never recommend a “facewash” or other beauty product, I feel like they mostly cause more harm than anything. I do not believe in supporting the outrageous claims of those who market them, the nasty companies who produce them, or the ingredients that are supposedly “safe” but a quick check on EWG will tell me that they are actually very toxic.

First things first, Shea Terra Organics is a company that was started a decade ago by a woman who wanted to support African communities by assisting in their wildlife preservation efforts. Secondly, they are an organic company who uses unchanged botanical ingredients, their recipes are REAL ingredients, not chemicals to decipher. For example, the ingredients in the product I’m touting here;

Contains only: deionized water, Yoruban black soap (cocoa pod ash, plaintain peel ash, palm kernels, camwood bark), certified organic shea butter, certified organic coconut oil, potassium hydroxide (electrocuted salts- what makes oil into soap), certified organic rose hips oil, rose hips fruit, aloe ferox, rooibos tea, kigellia africana, certified organic marshmallow root, licorice root

I haven’t tried their other products because like I said, Birchbox, but if you order through them directly, I’ve heard they will send samples with your order so you can try the bajillion other awesome sounding products. I’m eager to try their face masks and definitely the bath oils. rave reviews for those all over beauty blogs.

SO, about this particular facewash. It’s a bit weird at first; it doesn’t smell like perfume, in fact, it smells a little like dirt. It LOOKS a little like dirt too, very muddy and brown. The instructions say to put it straight on your face, no water, and sort of emulsify it, let it sit a while, and rinse. The first time I did it I thought I was not getting all the soap off my face because it was too silky feeling. NOPE, just my skin! The exfoliation is intense, very good. My skin felt clean and extremely soft after just one use!

Will I skip Bronners from now on? No. I will probably just use this soap two or three days a week when I feel like it’s getting congested and needs a good detox. Here’s what the pitch says;

 “This wash works like microdermabrasion to get rid of dead skin, even skin tone, firm skin and fight acne. Look younger in just minutes of use. South African Rose Hips Oil makes calms skin and works wonders on maturing skin.”

Claims are wild, and absurd, as always, BUT I have to say that my skin looked clean and glowy after just one use, definitely better than before I used it. Do I look younger? I can’t imagine any soap that can do that. Why do soaps insist on promising a fountain of youth? I don’t even want to look younger, I just want to look clean and…not tired. Ha!

If anyone has tried this line and can speak on behalf of any other products, please leave a comment. I’m making my list of things I’d like to try!

Alright, now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

Leave a Reply

